Home to Home

    Date/time:

    Title (required):

    Category:

    NoneBooksComputers and InternetEntertainmentFood and drinkGamesHealth and wellnessHobbiesMusicNews and politicsOrganizationsTravel Add a category
    Week 6 of uni and the past fortnight has seen me spending less time in my shared student flat and more time commuting from home. I’ve realised I’m spending around 2 nights a week at a place that’s costing me £80 a week, and something tells me I’m wasting money slightly.
    The one main thing I’ve been told to do is weigh up the pro’s and con’s of living in both Hull and Leeds, but what do you do when they balance out pretty much the same?
    On one hand I’d get to come home to my lovely boyfriend every day and avoid going throuh the torment of missing him every week, but on the other that’s all I’m coming home for. Anyone who’s ever spent any length of time in Hull will know it has very little to offer and is most definatley not the place to start a PR career, whereas Leeds is a city I love living in and could see myself staying in after uni.
    Sometimes I think the real question I have to answer is could I see myself getting up at 5.30am every Monday for the commute? I’m not a morning person, I know that much from the struggle to set off at 8am from Leeds just to get to Headingley.
    Overall I’d save a lot of money commuting, and the people I know who do are glad they do, but could I trust myself to go to every lecture if I have to travel for an extra 2 hours, especially for PR Theory on a Wednesday?
    Any advice welcome!
     

    Add photos Embed videos

     
     
     
    Week 6 of uni and the past fortnight has seen me spending less time in my shared student flat and more time commuting from home. I’ve realised I’m spending around 2 nights a week at a place that’s costing me £80 a week, and something tells me I’m wasting money slightly.
    The one main thing I’ve been told to do is weigh up the pro’s and con’s of living in both Hull and Leeds, but what do you do when they balance out pretty much the same?
    On one hand I’d get to come home to my lovely boyfriend every day and avoid going throuh the torment of missing him every week, but on the other that’s all I’m coming home for. Anyone who’s ever spent any length of time in Hull will know it has very little to offer and is most definatley not the place to start a PR career, whereas Leeds is a city I love living in and could see myself staying in after uni.
    Sometimes I think the real question I have to answer is could I see myself getting up at 5.30am every Monday for the commute? I’m not a morning person, I know that much from the struggle to set off at 8am from Leeds just to get to Headingley.
    Overall I’d save a lot of money commuting, and the people I know who do are glad they do, but could I trust myself to go to every lecture if I have to travel for an extra 2 hours, especially for PR Theory on a Wednesday?
    Any advice welcome!
    Leave a Reply

    