Do all style icons wear Prada?

“Who’s your favourite style icon?” Cosmo asks. I’ve been
wearing the same three pairs of shorts all summer with an oversized backpack as
my only accessory, and as for hair and make-up, I’m not sure I even remember
what a salon looks like.

Unpacking the small elephant that has been my backpack,
(ironically the same weight and colour, never mind smell of one) I begin
thinking about how to emerge myself back into the high-heeled and
handbag-worshipping culture I’d left behind before my trip to North America,
and just in case you’re wondering, it wasn’t exactly done A-list style, as my
horror of bus journey stories can tell you.

I’ve always loved Kate Moss in a she’ll-always-be-amazing
sort of way, whereas Fearne Cotton’s look was guilty of catching my eye one too
many a time my student loan would allow, but that was months ago, who the hell
am I supposed to idolise now I’ve been out of practise (besides any Joe Blogs
capable of putting a new Topshop outfit together)?

Style and our choice of icons vary widely, whilst rarely
being consistent with changing seasons, but style isn’t just something you
wear, it’s also something you read (take Cosmo for example), and reading is
something I’ve done a lot of lately.

Something crucial to fashion is the ability to put your own
touches to it, which is why I’m taking this article out of general expectations
and am going to tell you about a style icon of a different category, one which
the point of this article is all about: writing.

‘Books’ and ‘free’ are words not to be easily dismissed
before a 24 hour bus ride, so whilst sitting in a coffee shop in Chicago,
waiting to leave for Washington DC, I let Elizabeth Noble catch my eye, or
rather, her book:
Things I Want My
Daughters to Know.

Since being home I’ve also indulged myself with The Girl Next Door (plus a tub of Ben
& Jerry’s or two) and found exactly what I did in the first book: the
ability to relate to at least one character, and it wasn’t the ones whose
initials spelt my boyfriend’s favourite pastime.

Typical chick lit is often easy to read and just as easy to
dismiss after the last page, here is where Noble makes the difference. Though
her ambient concoction of words roll off the pages and into my mind as easily
as the thought of a Starbucks White Chocolate Mocha on a cold afternoon at
university, they stay with you longer than most other books’ would, and
certainly longer than the mocha would do.

Leave a Reply

