Review: V05 texture powder – bigger is better

A while ago I got a truly awful haircut. Imagine a bowl cut for girls and you won’t be far off. It was right before I went to a hen party so there wasn’t much I could do besides grab a few hairgrips and try putting it up in a way which people wouldn’t pay too much attention to it.

Just before we left the party to head into town for the night, things turned a bit girly and a mass hair and make-up session commenced. Seeing as someone I’d just met had done a wonderful job of creating smokey eyes on me, I thought I’d risk seeing if there was anything to be done about my hair.

Someone produced some volumising power, which I hadn’t heard of before. The only powder-based hair product I had seen was dry shampoo, and I couldn’t imagine what styling power it would have. Without much to lose, I let them try it and it worked brilliantly. I turned a too-perfect bob into a messy version of Nina Persson from the Cardigan’s hair in the video to My Favourite Game.

After that weekend I had my hair cut into a graduation bob, where my hairdresser used the same product on me again, and it looked great. I asked what it was and went out and bought some immediately. I’m not sure which brands were used on me but I found the V05 Give Me Texture Instant Oomph Powder and it seems like the different brands all have the same effect.

I’ve always had quite fine hair and have trouble getting a volumous look at times, but this product works wonders. The only downfalls I’ve found is less of an effect the longer the hair is – it works great on bobs, and it’s not recommended if you’re going to be out in the rain as it can go a bit like glue if you’ve put on a lot and leaves you with a greasy look. Otherwise, I couldn’t recommend it enough.

Here are my before and after pictures:

Before
After

 

Leave a Reply

