A little bit of contemplation and philosophy

For those of you that have followed my blog for a while, or maybe know me personally, you might know that one of my biggest life stresses is a career. Whether or not to have one, if I have one, whether to think of it as a career or just some high-powered thing I enjoy that pays for nice things, and most of all, what type of job to do.

I’ve gone from thinking about teaching, dolphin training, hairdressing, writing, crafting, marketing and just about everything in between since I was first asked to think about what I wanted to do ‘when I grew up’, back in primary school. I think it stressed me out even then.

I read an article recently about a fashion designer whose sister couldn’t decide between training as a nurse or going into fashion, and he just couldn’t understand the difficulty in making the choice as he had always had the pure determination to go down one particular route in life. How fantastic that must be!

Anyone who has had anxiety and similar issues may understand just how stressful thoughts like this can be, but I came across a quote in a book by Simone de Beauvoir recently which seemed to really put things in perspective, and I think I’ll remember it for a long time, so it’s probably worth sharing:

“…it all depends on what you make of your life. When you’re young, you don’t know what you’re going to do with it, and that’s why you’re confused and bewildered. But as soon as you take an interest in something – in something other than yourself – there are no more problems.”

Paris_sunrise

So there’s just a little piece of philosophy on the topic of life for you. Have you ever come across any quotes or pieces of advice that you can’t help but think of now and again?

2 thoughts on “A little bit of contemplation and philosophy

Leave a Reply

