X is for xenomania (ˌzɛnəʊˈmeɪnɪə)

Xenomania – an extreme passion for foreign culture, people or things. Yes, I had to look it up, and came across the word purely by chance in the dictionary when searching for an ‘X’ topic. But the topic fits, and seeing as my A-Z started off by talking about travel and foreign places, it’s a good topic to revisit while nearing the end of the challenge.

I’m not sure I have what you’d call an extreme passion for all things foreign exactly, but as the summer evenings arrive and I spend time walking around the leafy streets in mild temperatures, I am reminded of places abroad and how much I like discovering them.

In a couple of weeks I’ll be in Istanbul – somewhere a friend suggested we visit at random, and never one to say no to a new country, we booked some flights.

It’s been almost a year since I last went abroad, and over a year since I was on my last backpacking adventure, and although I’ve settled into home life much more since my return than the first time I went away, the thought of exploring new streets, hearing foreign voices, accents and languages out numbering your own and sleeping in a room of bunk beds still gets me excited.

What’s more, the markets in Istanbul are renowned for the variety of silks and fabrics, and I can’t wait to fill my house with stunning wall hangings lamp shades and create some beautiful skirts from the material I pick up.

When I searched for an X topic for this post, someone suggested xenophobia, which I really wanted to write about, though I tend to have moved away from these sorts of posts in favour of crafts, travel and nice things! But xenomania highlights what we should love about everything foreign, and for me, foreign means adventure – my own and the adventure of others. Every foreign friend I have made has been on an adventure of their own in order to be where I’m living (though I think I got the better deal with my trips!) and that’s what life should be all about.

Whether it’s trying a new food, booking a holiday to somewhere you’ve never been, or learning a new language, try and add a bit of xenomania in your life, and let me know what you get up to!

One thought on “X is for xenomania (ˌzɛnəʊˈmeɪnɪə)

  1. 10 out of 10 for determination, it’s obvious that you have a very busy life but still you want to finish this challenge, kudos, very impressed by that. Great word and attitude, you have a great time in Istanbul, lucky you:)

Leave a Reply

