Y is for Yorkshire pudding

I’ve talked a lot about travel is this A-Z blog series, and all of the posts I’ve written have been about what I have gained from a place – the experiences, the atmosphere, friends I’ve made – they’re all things that have allowed me to benefit from travelling. But travelling is often about exchanging things, and primarily knowledge from our hometowns and countries.

When travelling I often Couch Surf, and doing this usually comes with a casual agreement that the person offering the accommodation is repaid with a cooked meal by the guest, and if it can be something from the guest’s country, the better. I’ll admit I often opt out of this by giving a token of beer or wine at the end of my stay to say thanks instead, or by going out to eat together, but when asked about local food I have always ended up telling people about Yorkshire puddings, aka food of the Gods.

The last time I was away I shared the joy of Yorkshire puddings with some travellers from Wales, so not exactly the foreign culture you’d expect! But the sound of them went down great anyway, and I was made to promise to visit and make some if I’m ever in Cardiff.

So, what is a Yorkshire Pudding exactly? It’s not a dessert, despite the name, but a round mixture of flour, milk and salt, baked in the oven until it rises into a dish shape. Normal ones are about 2-3 inches wide and accompany a Sunday roast dinner with meat, potatoes, vegetables and gravy. Larger ones are usually known as Giant Yorkshire Puddings and take up most of the plate, holding the other contents of a roast dinner or sausage and mashed potato, again drowned in gravy.

They’re super easy to make, but you can buy frozen too. If this is the first you’ve heard of them, look them up and try them this weekend, or for your best bet, head to any pub in Yorkshire for your tea. And yes, in Yorkshire, it’s not dinner, it’s tea. But that explanation is for another post.

Leave a Reply

