A delicious muffin recipe for a rainy day

In an effort to ditch this horrendous cold I’ve got, I doubled up every piece of clothing I had on, put the heating on tropic settings and hovered around the radiator. Still cold, I turned to baking (because this meant having the oven on and therefore something else to help defrost my toes). The result was the best muffins I’ve ever made. They’re amazing. I just wish my tastebuds were working at their full potential.

The best recipes always seem to be an accident, but I liked this accident so much that I thought it was worth writing down. Have a go, and enjoy!

Muffins

150g butter

150g caster sugar

2 eggs

200g self raising flour

1 mashed banana

100g chopped fudge

2 tbsp treacle

2 tspn butterscotch flavouring

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 180c.

Mix butter and caster sugar.

Add one egg at a time and part of the flour.

Add the remaining flour and banana. If the mix is too wet, throw in some more flour.

Throw in some chopped fudge, though toffee was what I originally had in mind, this worked just as well.

Although the ingredient list I wrote says 2 tbsp of treacle, I’d actually recommend just making nice squiggly patterns with it over the mixture. Mix it in, then do it once more. The amount is just a guess. Same with the butterscotch.

Pour mixture into muffin cases, filling them pretty high. Silicone ones work the best as the paper seems to struggle under the weight a bit.

Bake for roughly 12 minutes. They’re done when the top feels quite crust-like but the underneath still very spongy. Then eat while they’re still warm and the fudge has melted!

One thought on “A delicious muffin recipe for a rainy day

Leave a Reply

