#NaNoWriMo day 20: I’m running out of chocolate

November has been a hectic month. It’s been the toughest month at work so far, I’ve been setting up my freelancing business, got Christmas projects underway, and am trying to write a novel too! Crazy? Yes, in hindsight, quite possibly. But people do it. Out of all the blogs I read before November began, the one that stuck in my mind the most was one written by a mum of a toddler, who was also retraining at university in the evenings, and was still determined to find the time to complete NaNoWriMo. I’d love to find her blog again and see how she’s doing.

Is motivation on the ingredients list?
Is motivation on the ingredients list?

And that seems to be the theme this week – seeing how others are faring in their writing missions. The official NaNo emails seem to send the message that Wrimos can now be split into two categories – those well ahead, and those far behind. I wouldn’t be so pessimistic to say I’m far behind, but behind is what I definitely am. I hadn’t planned my novel too thoroughly before I started, because I work better with creative stuff if I see where it goes, but I had the rough story arc in mind and when I consider my word count, I thought I’d be much further into the plot than I am. My character just doesn’t seem to be going anywhere fast! And on top of that, I seem to be copying her every move when it comes to food she eats. Maybe it’s a kind of subconscious get-to-know-your-character thing, but I find more chocolate and popcorn creeping into the story (and my stomach) by the day. It probably has something to do with the fact that I’m reading Bridget Jones at the moment. I wonder just how many bars of Cadbury Helen Fielding has passively sold? Anyway…

I need to write 2500 words a day to finish on time. Sometimes that seems doable in the evenings, but when it isn’t, and I barely get near that, it just adds the pressure on the next day, and before you know it, the word count you need to complete on time seems ridiculously high and there aren’t enough days left in the month to catch up. But positive thoughts, please.

November has fallen at a good time this year. Doesn’t it come at the same time each year? I hear you ask. Yes, but this year sees the month end on a weekend, just as it started, and as far as cramming words in goes, this is far better than ending on, say, a Thursday. My social calendar is being pretty much wiped for the next fortnight, and I’m going to try and apply the same writing technique that saw me through such a positive first week: hammer it at the weekends! This Saturday I want to aim for 5k words, which would be my best daily target yet. Oh, the chocolate I will be eating…

But I should stop blogging and get back to it, right? Right.

One thought on “#NaNoWriMo day 20: I’m running out of chocolate

  1. Good luck with NaNo! I’m a little behind with my word count, too – hoping to make the last week REALLY count.

    (Also, pretty sure the majority of my [junk] food intake is solely because of Helen Fielding ;))

Leave a Reply

