A little about me

I’ve been running my little blog for ten years this year (TEN! I didn’t realise it was that long when I began that sentence!) and have had periods of being really active and others, well, not. But I’m dedicating myself to blogging regularly again now and with that comes new readers, so I thought a post to reintroduce myself and tell you a bit about who I am would be a good idea.

About me: I’m a 28 year old writer, living in Hull, in Yorkshire. I live with my boyfriend Gary and our little girl, Maddie, who’s nearly one. We bought our first home just after having her last year and are living through the renovation stage, which will probably last for all of eternity…

I love travel and it’s something I want to be a big part of Maddie’s life. I’ve got plans to take a year out at some point as she grows up to show her the world and other cultures.

Me and Maddie
Me and Maddie

We also accommodate a small zoo, consisting of Taro, a pain in the arse of a cat, and two rabbits called Rupert and Stella. I’ve had Rupert since my university days, and Stella came as a later addition when we were selling a computer on Gumtree one day. We get distracted easily.

Here are some questions you guys regularly ask:

What do you do for a career?

Officially, I’m a freelance copywriter. I worked for PR and design agencies until I had Maddie last March, but I specialise in educational writing for schools. This year I’m going to be focused on promoting my new business, Stitch. I’ll be designing curriculums for schools which allow children to learn through arts and crafts to develop confidence in their abilities. It’s just finished its pilot scheme and went really well.

What is your blog about?

I run a lifestyle and parenting blog. I’d say it was a 60/40 split. This year it will have a bigger focus than usual on local events, following Hull through its City of Culture journey for 2017. I also just published some poetry here last week, so I might do that again from time to time too.

What’s your favourite social media channel?

Instagram! I love it. Facebook, and increasingly Twitter, can make you feel like you’re wasting hours of your life, but Instagram has a focus to it which I like. It’s much more about quality than the others.

What’s your favourite thing about being a parent?

The purity of it. I see Maddie laugh and smile and remember that she’s got no idea how rough the world can be, and that her happiness is happiness in its purest form, and that in itself makes every day magical.

What’s the best place you’ve ever travelled to?

Chiang Mai in Thailand is somewhere I would move to tomorrow if I was given the chance. I absolutely love it there. I had the best time in Koh Samui too though, I’ve never known such kind and generous people as I met there and I’ve never felt quite as much myself anywhere else, England included. New York is a big favourite too, and Austin in Texas.

Describe the perfect day off.

I’d wake up early and have scrambled eggs on toast with a cup of tea. I’d go on a long country walk and stop in my favourite coffee shop with a book on the way home.

What’s the best thing about your hometown?

Erm, the house prices? Ha. We would have been unlikely to buy a house in the situation we were in many other places in the country, and I really love the area of the city we live in. There’s a big community vibe to it and I’ve met a lot of like-minded people here. Saying that, I’d never planned on settling here, it just kind of happened. But seriously, it’s a great city. I’d say the general Hullness is the best quality here. People have a really positive attitude to how things are developing and it’s a lovely change from a few years ago.

Where did you want to live?

When Gary and I decided to live in the same place, I had planned to move to Stratford upon Avon, where he is from. He loved Hull though and we got impatient with the long distance and he came here before my temp job ended. Then we planned on applying for jobs anywhere in the country to give ourselves a fresh start, but an application I already had in offered me a job, and so we stayed. I do wonder, ‘what if?’ but that job essentially set me up for what I’m doing now, so it’s all good.

Name some artists you like.

Hollie McNish (spoken word poet)

Christine and the Queens

Of Monsters and Men

Simone de Beauvoir (writer)

Nicole Krauss (writer)

Haruki Murakami (writer)

Do you have any favourite brands?

I like eco-conscious brands and ones that don’t test on animals. I really like the style of Oliver Bonas and Vivienne Westwood (Plus Boden and Gap for kids). Can’t beat a bit of M&S either.

Feel free to ask me any more questions, I’ll make sure I reply in the comments. You can find me on Twitter and Instagram too:

@lauramsmith 🐦

lauramsmith11 📸

Lx

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s